Learning about China – in a GLE kind of way

Last week someone asked me what I thought of the Global Leadership Explorations (GLE) class.

Actually before I give my thoughts on GLE – let’s share what Darden thinks about GLE.

That description really gives Darden a lot of leeway with what they could (and have done) with the GLE class.  So let’s talk about my thoughts about the class – the GLE class in my view is really about exposing you to a country’s culture.  You are exposed to that culture in several different ways

– presentations about a country’s culture from professors from our partner schools

– presentations from CFOs, CEOs, etc

– social outtings (dinners, theaters, etc)

– exploration of museums, parks, etc

– books, cases, assignments, etc

That’s the general gist of what has been going on – at least on paper.  But you know what, I want to talk about the Term 3 GLE (the China term) classes and readings.  Tomorrow is our first GLE class of the term and i’m excited because not only are we diving into a case about doing business in China (first lesson learned from this case – get a good translator) – which is great but we’re also looking at other HBR articles about doing business in China.

I’m also excited because during tomorrow’s class – we’re going to be incorporating what we’ve learned from reading one of the books that Darden sent us for this term’s GLE.  Ok…see that’s an added bonus of Darden’s case based learning system.  It is not like Darden said go read this book and answer these specific questions – its more like Darden said go read this book, and then these extra HBR articles and THEN go and apply what you’ve learned to this case.

Cool isn’t it!!!!

Finally – I should point out that we have 2 or 3 other books to read about China and we have presentations coming up from some of the authors of these books.

I’m very happy with this term’s GLE experience (up to this point).

Leave a comment

Leave a comment